The purpose of this video is to critique two similar websites, Humans of New York and Humans of Rutgers. Both websites are great examples of pages working to tell the untold story of the average person. Watching the critique you’ll be able to follow along as I point out examples of what the websites do well and what they could improve on.

Both websites make use of information technology by using graphics and visual content to take their message further. On both sites, most of the visual content utilized are photographs of the people interviewed for their site. Accompanying photographs to the interviews allow a person to see what the subject actually looks like and attracts a viewer. When you scroll through all the photographs it doesn’t take long to realize that all of the people interviewed look like your average person.

Actually making the screencast was a process that involved recording my screen using Screencast, recording audio on voice memos from my iPhone 6 (only because the mic on my laptop is broken), and editing the video on Adobe Premiere Pro.

Because my laptop mic was broken, I simultaneously recorded my voice on voice memos as I recorded my screen using Screencast. I then imported the video and audio onto Premiere Pro so I could lay my recorded voice over the screencast.

The most interesting part of creating the video was adding music from freemusicarchive.org to play in the background. In my mind, to hear the sound of my voice for five minutes straight drove me insane so I needed to include another audio source. I downloaded audio from freemusicarchive.org and imported it into Premiere Pro, as well. Then, I played with the levels of the music audio so it would play nicely in the background. Finally, I exported the completed project so I could upload it to YouTube.

Leave a comment